Skip to content

Higher Education Commission of Pakistan devises new rating criteria for private universities

  • by

ISLAMABAD: The Higher Education Commission (HEC) has devised a new rating criteria for private sector universities by which all categories X, Y and Z will cease to exist and degrees awarded by universities/degree awarding institutions (DAIs) holding such categories will not be recognized by the HEC.

‘W’ category will now be the minimum baseline requirement for a university/DAI to be allowed to admit students and award degrees. W category is not the “highest ranking” as advertised by most universities rather it is the minimum criteria required of them to admit students and award degrees.

In an enhanced effort to provide better educational facilities to students, HEC has now devised and improved the criteria, in which those universities/DAIs meeting the minimum HEC requirement will be awarded a W-1 category while those with far superior academic, financial and physical infrastructure will be awarded a W-4 category, which is now the “highest rating”.

The revised rating of such universities will be disseminated through print and media by October 2011. As per HEC approved criteria, the universities/DAIs were required to meet a certain minimum criteria for award of W category by June 30, 2010.

The institutions not meeting the requirements, and based on inspection of HEC prior to June 30, 2010 were placed in X, Y and Z categories.

The universities not meeting the W criteria have been asked not to offer admissions in Fall 2011, and a list of all universities with minimum W criteria and their approved campuses has been placed on HEC website. app

HEC Recognized Universities and Degree Awarding Institutions

HEC Recognized Campuses










Leave a Reply

Discover more from Overseas Pakistani Friends

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading