ISLAMABAD: Websites launched for parliamentarians

The Pakistan Institute of Legislative Development and Transparency (PILDAT) has developed websites for members of the National Assembly with an objective to reinforce link between elected representatives and masses.

Initially, these websites have been made only for 15 politicians of major political parties of the country and these were launched in a ceremony here on Tuesday. Deputy Speaker National Assembly Faisal Karim Kundi, who was chief guest on the occasion, said the websites would provide a platform to MNAs through which they could highlight their work as public representatives.

He said these websites would help create awareness among masses about the role of parliamentarians. They said the feedback received through the system would help in formulating policies for development.

Stressing the need for further extension of the programme, the deputy speaker said the NA would provide full support to the PILDAT in this regard. Speaking on the occasion, Executive Director of the PILDAT Ahmed Bilal Mehboob said the websites had been created as part of the PILDAT initiative to promote understanding of the role and responsibilities of MNAs.

He said as part of the project, the PILDAT was holding group discussion and open public meetings in each of these 15 MNAs’ constituencies in addition to creating and maintaining these MNAs’ websites.

He said the PILDAT also facilitated a weeklong study tour of the MNAs to the United Kingdom in order to enhance learning and understanding of the MNAs on the role of Western parliamentarians, especially with respect to their constituency.

MNAs Noor Alam Khan, Pir Dilawar Shah, Baligh ur Rehman, Arshad Khan Leghari, Saira Afzal Tarrar and Khush Bakht Shujaat also spoke on the occasion and appreciated the efforts of PILDAT.

The 15 selected MNAs and their websites include: Faisal Karim Kundi (NWFP-PPPP): , Noor Alam Khan (NWFP-PPPP): , Pir Dilawar Shah (NWFP-ANP): , Tariq Fazal Chaudhary (ICT-PML-N): , Sardar Saleem Haider Khan (Punjab-PPPP): , Khurram Dastgir Khan (Punjab-PML-N): , Saira Afzal Tarrar (Punjab-PML-N): , Liaqat Ali Khan (Punjab-PPPP): , Baligh ur Rehman (Punjab-PML-N): , Arshad Khan Leghari (Punjab-PML-N): , Talat Iqbal Mashesar (Sindh-PPP): http:// , Abdul Qadir Patel (Sindh-PPPP): , Sufyan Yousuf (Sindh- MQM): , Khush Bakht Shujaat (Sindh-MQM): , Syed Nasir Ali Shah (Balochistan-PPP):

1 thought on “ISLAMABAD: Websites launched for parliamentarians”

Leave a Reply