HEC awards 35 best university teachers 3

ISLAMABAD: The Higher Education Commission (HEC) Wednesday hosted the 3rd Best University Teachers’ Awards Ceremony to honour teachers’ dedicated efforts to enhance the academic atmosphere in the institutions of higher learning.

In all, 35 awards for the year 2007 were conferred on teachers of as many universities. The award includes a cash prize of Rs 100,000 and a certificate of merit.

“We salute you for your services as a teacher and researcher. Teachers are the heart and soul of universities and the mentors that unleash the creative talents of the students,” said HEC Chairman Prof Dr Atta-ur-Rahman in his congratulatory remarks to the teachers named the best teachers. He said the process of selection for the Best Teacher Award was long and across board. “It involves feedback from students, evaluation reports by departmental heads, deans and vice-chancellors of the respective universities. This recognition is aimed at encouraging your efforts. We hope that you will continue hardwork and make your universities islands of excellence that match the best in the world,” he said.

Elaborating on changes in higher education since the inception of HEC, he said the landscape of universities had begun to change. He mentioned various initiatives of the commission including advent of a four-year undergraduate programme, strong quality assurance mechanism, emphasis on research, tripling of student enrolment, digital library access to 23,000 international journals, 45,000 e-books and Pakistan Education & Research Network etc.

HEC Executive Director Prof Dr Sohail Naqvi, Operations Member Prof Dr Mukhtar Ahmad and General Academics Director Rahim Bux Channa were also present on the occasion.

Best teachers for 2007 are Dr Perveen Liaquat from Allama Iqbal Open University, Engineer Jehanzeb Ahmad from Bahria University, Dr Aurangzeb Zulfiqar Khan from COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Dr Rahmat Elahi from International Islamic University Islamabad, Dr Muhammad Younus Javed from NUST, Dr Muhammad Tufail from PIEAS, Dr Salman Akbar Malik from Quaid-i-Azam University, Dr Uzaira Rafique from Fatima Jinnah Women University, Dr Islamullah Khan from GCU, Lahore, Dr Kausar Jamal Cheema from Lahore College for Women University, Dr Zafar Iqbal from University of Agriculture, Faisalabad, Dr Noor Muhammad Sheikh from UET, Lahore, Dr Muid Ur Rahman Mufti from UET, Taxila, Dr Mowadat Hussain Rana from University of Health Sciences, Dr Safdar Hussain from University of Sargodha, Dr Muhammad Sharif from University of the Punjab, Dr Nasim Ahmad from University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Dr Fayyaz-ul-Hassan from University of Arid Agriculture, Dr Salma Shaikh from Liaquat University of Medical and Health Sciences, Dr Muhammad Ibrahim Panhwar from Mehran University of Engineering and Technology, Dr Saad Ahmed Qazi from NED University of Engineering and Technology, Dr Saleem Raza Samo from Quaid-e-Awam University of Engineering, Science and Technology, Dr Ghulam Mustafa Mashori from Shah Abdul Latif University, Dr Saghir Ahmed Sheikh from Sindh Agriculture University, Dr S Jamil H Kazmi from University of Karachi, Dr Pervez Ahmad Pathan from University of Sindh, Dr Bakhtiar Muhammad from Hazara University, Dr Zahir Shah from NWFP Agricultural University, Dr Qaisar Ali from UET, Peshawar, Dr Zafar Iqbal from University of Peshawar, Dr Saeed Ahmed from University of Science and Technology, Bannu, Engineer Muhammad Nadeem from Balochistan University of Information Technology Engineering and Management Sciences, Dr Izhar Hussain from University of Balochistan, Dr Dilnawaz Ahmad Gardezi from University of AJK, and Dr Arif-un-Nisa Naqvi from Karakuram International University, Gilgit.

Source: The Post, 14/8/2008

Leave a Reply

3 thoughts on “HEC awards 35 best university teachers

  • Fezan Rafique

    Dr Saad A Qazi is MashahALLAH one of the best teachers, always ready to help you in all issues. He manages to teach most effectively in whatever resources available.
    May Allah Pal bless us with mentors like him, and protect them.