Lahore: 39 PhD scholars’ theses approved

The Advance Studies and Research Board (AS&RB) of the Punjab University on Monday approved theses topics of 39 PhD scholars of various departments and institutes of the varsity. According to a press statement, the board raised objections on some topics and recommended modifications and corrections.

The board members asked scholars about rationale and methodology of their study areas and recommended various improvements in methodology and proposed time period. PU Vice Chancellor Dr Mujahid Kamran chaired the moot. It was held in the committee room. Prof Dr Jamil Anwar Chaudhry, Prof Dr Javed Ahmad, Prof Dr Anwar A Khan, Prof Dr Muhammad Saleem Mazhar, Prof Dr Nayyar Raza Zaidi, Prof Dr Shahida Hasnain, Prof Dr Mughees-ud-Din Sheikh, Prof Dr Zafar Iqbal Jadoon, Prof Dr Nasir Ahmad and Prof Dr Khawaja Harris Rashid attended the meeting.

The PhD scholars whose thesis topics were approved included Farzana Shafique, Muhammad Rafique and Nosheen Fatima of Department of Library & Information Science, Ehsan Mahmood, Asghar Ali and Aishah Siddiquah of Education Department, Nazia Sattar, Khawar Mansoor and Musferah Mehfooz of Islamic Studies Department, Subha Malik of Psychology & Applied Psychology Department, Jaffar Ali of Botany Department, Aisha Waheed Quershi of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics Department, Usman Ali Ashfaq, Rizwan Yousaf, Saba Khaliq, Muhammad Ansar, Naureen Latief of Molecular Biology Department, Shahida Azhar Ali of Zoology Department, Muhammad Maqsood and Talib Hussain of Arabic Department, Humaira Irshad, Raheela Kausar, Zahira Nisar, Shazia Razzaq, Malika Rehana, Muhammad Akram, Raza Ahmad, Azmat Rubab, Asif Ali Chattha, Taqdees Zehra, Eram Saleem and Noureen Razzaq of Urdu Department, Rashid Ahmad of Punjabi Department, Ayesha Khaliq of Chemistry Department, Khalid Islam of Physics Department, Saima Gulzar and Maria Khalid of Earth and Environmental Science Department.

The News, 8/7/2008

Leave a Reply